West Yorkshire & Harrogate Excellence Centre

Our Reviews

Review of Ear Care Training

Attendee at ear care training ( support worker) respondent to WYHEC impact survey (September 2019)
As a result of attending the course i am now able to irrigate ears and have more confidence in this procedure. I am also able to take the work load off Nurses.

Review of Acute Stroke Management and Treatment. Post-Acute Stroke Complications

WYHEC Impact survey respondent (August 2019)
It was interesting to listen to and speak with others who have a shared interest in stroke management.
The learning gained has enabled me to improve the way i work.

Review of Acute Stroke Management and Treatment. Post-Acute Stroke Complications

Mark Smith (August 2019)
Very comprehensive insight to the treatment of stroke patients and the likely outcome from various methods of post stroke care. Venue was good, comfortable and able to see the presentation easily.

Review of Acute Stroke Management and Treatment. Post-Acute Stroke Complications

Jude Greaves-Newall (August 2019)
Excellent informative session. Helped put into perspective acute management options and effectiveness. Excelent education and information on stroke types and epidemiology. Nicely related to practice and put into perspective from this angle. Speaker well informed and interesting.

Review of Acute Stroke Management and Treatment. Post-Acute Stroke Complications

Shannen Beadle (August 2019)
Consultant speaker was very clear in information he was giving. Feedback for Skills platform - this was the first event I have attended would like the sessions to be more compiled into one day would be better. Had to travel from Wakefield to Bradford to attend would prefer closer.

Review of Pressure Care and Tissue Viability

dyana roche (August 2019)
excellent

Review of Minute Taking/Meetings and Minutes

unknown ( respondent to WYHEC Training impact survey Sept 2019) (July 2019)
Attending the Minute Taking course has had positive impact on my as as result my confidence has improved.

Review of Safe Moving and Handling

Rosie Hawley (July 2019)
We have been working in partnership with Shipley College for a number of years in delivering this course.
Feedback is always excellent for a thorough programme, delivered professionally.

Review of Learning Disabilities Awareness Training

Ruth Fisher (June 2019)
As a result of attending this one day training I will consider how our services and materials may appear to to people with Learning Disabilities- are they accessible or are there reasonable adjustments that can be made to improve accessibility. I will also apply the knowledge learned to every contact.

Review of Learning Disabilities Awareness Training

Ernestina Antwi (June 2019)
From attending this training I will be more aware of changes in mood and consider with help of the parent if it is due to medical conditions. I will also find out more about the client and explore different ways of communication.

Review of Learning Disabilities Awareness Training

Cherie (June 2019)
I will ensure "passports" are in place and up to date and look up some of the websites that were mentioned in the training.

Review of Learning Disabilities Awareness Training

Care worker (June 2019)
I would strongly recommend this training to a colleague.
It gave me more understanding and the information was very useful towards my work. As a result of attending this training I will give more time to clients.

Review of Managing Time and Stress Reduction

unknown ( respondent to WYHEC Training impact survey Sept 2019) (May 2019)
I agree that attending the course has improved my knowledge of the subject and helped improve my confidence. As a result of the learning i have been able to bring about and suggest changes in the workplace.

Review of End of Life Care Home Workbook Follow up event

S lockwood (May 2019)
Staff at Heatherstones have completed the End of Life Care workbook, some have worked through it on an individual basis, some have completed parts of it as a group. As a team we have found the workbook is a really useful tool to use in our service, it guides and gives information on symptom management in a concise manner, it is easy to follow, it explains things clearly. Staff say they have enjoyed working through it and that it has explained things thoroughly to them. It is a tool that we will continue to use long term; it has prompted us to challenge our thinking and to question each other. The teaching surrounding the work book was very good as was the follow up session, where we were able to ask lots of questions.

Review of End of Life Care Home Workbook

S Lockwood (May 2019)
Staff at Heatherstones have completed the End of Life Care workbook, some have worked through it on an individual basis, some have completed parts of it as a group. As a team we have found the workbook is a really useful tool to use in our service, it guides and gives information on symptom management in a concise manner, it is easy to follow, it explains things clearly. Staff say they have enjoyed working through it and that it has explained things thoroughly to them. It is a tool that we will continue to use long term; it has prompted us to challenge our thinking and to question each other. The teaching surrounding the work book was very good as was the follow up session, where we were able to ask lots of questions. I feel confident that we could contact Karen (Clinical educator) in the future should we need any support.
S Lockwood

Review of Dementia Bus

Lily Craig (May 2019)
I thought the Dementia Bus was a really insightful experience that allowed all of us whom work with those living with Dementia to experience just a snippet of what daily life might be like. It was eye-opening and thought-provoking and would recommend this experience to anyone who wants to learn more!

Review of Dementia Bus

pauline newsome (May 2019)
A valid experience that highlights the difficulties & distractions that are encountered in the deteriorating stages of dementia.

Review of Advanced Communication Skills

Unknown ( respondent to WYHEC training impact survey Sept 2019) (April 2019)
As a result of attending the Advanced Communication course i feel more confident to have difficult conversations.

Review of Dementia Bus

Rebecca Day (April 2019)
It was excellent. I have worked with people who are living with dementia for 20 years and thought I knew how to empathise and support them in the best way possible. However, this experience gave a real life physical and emotional encounter which will stay with me forever! The short amount of time immersed in the virtual world of dementia gave me a glimpse into what it might be like for people experiencing dementia and will help me to empathise further with the people I work with and subsequently be more aware of what can help and hinder things in practice. The follow up debrief, discussion and knowledge given after the experience was a welcome and needed inclusion. It helped me to reflect on and to consolidate what we had had experienced and how we could use this in future practice to help improve the lives of people with dementia. Without giving too much away, the trainer, and how he conducted the session was very clever and imperative to the overall experience. I would recommend this to everyone, especially people who work within social care. It would be amazing if there was a way we could make this available to more people in the future.

As a Practice Champion I also thought that this might be a brilliant learning opportunity for student social workers. i have recommended this to our workforce development to hopefully also pass on to the Teaching Partnership

Review of Dementia Bus

Lisa Farley (April 2019)
This was one of the most frightening and humbling things I have ever experienced. It really opened my eyes up to how someone with dementia struggles and how their families and carers do not really understand their lives.
I have spoken to work colleagues about what I learnt from this and they were astounded. Simple changes can make a massive impact on living with dementia. Dementia is our condition and it is vital that everyone should be given the opportunity to experience this and shape the future of effective and supportive management of dementia.

Review of Dementia Bus

Lauren Clarke (April 2019)
The Dementia Bus was a really insightful experience. Clever techniques were used to emulate the difficulties someone living with dementia may face when completing everyday tasks. It was so frustrating trying to fold towels with arthritic hands, listen to instructions when my head was full of other noises, and stack washing up when my eyesight was so poor. The session was expertly led by our host and the post-experience discussion was really informative. The host offered some really useful advice and I would recommend this session for anyone and everyone!

Review of Dementia Bus

Pauline Binnie (April 2019)
I attended the Dementia Bus training session on the 30th April 2019 thinking that I had an empathy for people suffering from dementia, boy was I wrong! Once I found myself experiencing how a person with mid-stage dementia lives their life on a daily basis I felt humbled. When asked to do simple tasks, but with the restrictions of a person suffering from dementia, my world changed totally. The feeling of helplessness I had was overwhelming. The simple task of trying to get myself dressed in just one item of clothing was so frustrating, but such a sense of achievement when achieved felt like I had won the lottery. A fully functioning person would only be startled by a person coming up at the side of them to speak, but for a dementia sufferer this can be perceived as being under attack, and when lashing out in a self-protect mode be seen as been aggressive when it is not the case at all. I never fully appreciated how much a difference peripheral vision makes to a person, and when this is taken away your world becomes a much darker place.
I believe that going forward I will have more compassion and tolerance for anyone who is suffering from dementia as I realise that it can be a lonely and sometimes terrifying existence. I would also like to add that this experience should be offered to as many people as it possibly can be, even to the point where it should be taught in our schools and colleges. Thank you for giving me just a glimpse of how different a person’s life can be when living with dementia. I can truly say that this experience has changed my life in the way that I will treat people, environments and situations going forward.

Review of Dementia Bus

Eileen Mallon (April 2019)
This session was excellent and very thought-provoking. A little insight into what a person with Dementia goes through on a daily basis. Everyone, whether from children to adults should be given the opportunity to experience this.

Review of Free Alison Online Courses

Alison Ackew (April 2019)
If you are wanting to gain learning and understanding in specific subject areas, and want an option that is self-paced accessing a course from this website might be for you. Although the courses are not accredited, they are written by subject matter experts and are free and easy to access.
There is a suite of subjects relevant to Health and Care as well as subjects to support your personal and self development. Definitely worth having a look!

Review of Awareness of Mental Health Problems

Alison Ackew (July 2018)
I have undertaken level 2 distance learning programmes through both Learning Curve and the Skills Network. So far every course I have undertaken has been up-to-date and relevant for staff working in the health and care sector. Really good for improving knowledge of the subject area or as a refresher. The level 2 Mental Health courses are fully funded and although they require a fair amount of time commitment from the learner to complete the work required there is an option to access the course and submit work either via workbooks or online. Both courses also include tutor support as required and I found it easy to access a relevant person when I needed advice or support.
If you are wanting a more robust understanding of Mental Health related issues there is an option to progress to the level 3 course.

Review of OOMPH! Workshop

Alison Ackew (July 2018)
I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in thinking outside the box and wants to empower family members or those they work with to build activity into their everyday lives.
The course was well delivered with a good mixture of background theory, group work and activities. What made this course stand out for me was the emphasis on promoting well-being using a personalised approach, and the understanding that what activity means to one person may be very different to another.